365 Days

It’s hard to believe 365 days ago, we brought our little man home for what we hoped would be forever. During the past year, I have experienced the highest of highs and have faced the deepest sorrows that come with the journey of adoption. I have wondered if my love for him will be enough or how he will process through once he fully understands how God brought us together. Every day I grow just a little more in love with this little man, and I thank God every day that he saw fit to allow us the honor to love him with all of our hearts.

In the last year, I have failed miserably as a parent, I have laughed joyously at his crazy antics, I have cried over the heartbreak of knowing I will never know everything, and the realization that I missed the first 17 months of his life. I have been elated when I heard him call out “Mommy” and run to me with his arms lifted high. I have watched in wonder as he sleeps and cherished the feel of his little hands patting my back as we hug. I have experienced the highest moments of pride as he learns and conquers new stages and have felt pure fear as he adventures a little too far out of mommy’s comfort zone. I love the moments he snuggles next to me as we read books and the way he phrases certain words. I love the sounds he makes when identifying the animals he sees and how his sweet giggles fill the air. I love the sweet smell of his hair when I’m rocking him or the way he runs to me when he needs comfort over an owie. There is not a day that goes by that I am not faced with the overwhelming gift we have been given. 365 days down.

aaron.hat

Leave a Reply

