Third Time’s a Charm

Well, we have a plan!  My parents and I drove to Walnut Creek today to meet with a 3rd surgeon who was a referral from my original doctor in Anaheim.  We spent 90 minutes with him in an effort to truly understand the possibilities of what I may be facing in the very near future.   With his easy manner and confidant way of communicating, he was nothing short of amazing!  Despite the topic of discussion, we all found ourselves laughing at various aspects of the process to come and a true peace flooded the room!

When we arrived at the office, our goal was to determine whether or not this was the right doctor and if he could get me into surgery sooner than my doctor in Anaheim.  When I first spoke with his nurse last week, she assured me that he is an extremely busy man and getting a surgery date any time soon would be nearly impossible.  It’s almost becoming hilarious to me how many times in the past three weeks I’ve heard a similar story, but each time, I’m reminded of what a mighty God I serve…a God who has gone before me and has taken care of all the details.  What an incredible faith booster this whole experience has been for me!  Truly, God has answered one more prayer…a surgery scheduled for another patient next week was moved to a later date, leaving March 3rd (9 days from now) open for my procedure.  

So, for now, what we know is that the cancer has been bumped up to a Stage 2.  If all goes well and the tumor is as superficial as the doctor currently thinks, he anticipates I will be in the hospital for 3-4 days and then the rest of my treatment can be done closer to home.  If there is no need for radiation therapy, I may be back to work in 6-8 weeks; however, if reconstructive surgery is needed, my hospital stay will be 7-10 days and radiation will start 6 weeks after my surgery.  The doctor said with radiation it could be 6 months before I am cleared to go back to work.  

So, there it is…the plan!  My family and I continue to feel amazed by God’s grace and movement since my diagnosis and we are so thankful for all of the love and support!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mizzjanie
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 04:37:21

    so awesome! the surgery date is simply amazing. how perfect is God’s timing!

    Reply

  2. angielamberth
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 05:00:55

    thank you God. i’m glad to hear this news! praying.

    Reply

  3. Lorreen
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 05:15:54

    Whoo hoo Thank YOU JESUS!! Great news indeed Kels. You are in our thoughts and prayers, God is so GOOD. Be ENCOURAGED and stop worrying about work…get back to 100% first 🙂

    Reply

  4. mandy jafari
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 05:30:56

    Thank you for sharing this journey with us through this blog. I love you Kelli!!

    Reply

  5. David and Vicki Bishop
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 15:17:37

    Dearest Kelli,
    We will be holding you up before our Father as you walk this tough road. May God give you peace as you go through the surgery. We will be praying for your Mom and Dad and Sister and Brother too.
    Hugs and Love,
    David and Vicki

    Reply

  6. Tricia
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 16:01:24

    Sounds like a great plan and so glad you like your doctor. Will be praying for you March 3. I just know God will work a miracle thru your surgeon and you’ll be healed in no time!

    Reply

  7. toni martin-stolp
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 17:27:24

    so stoked to hear that kelli!!! and i’m totally grateful for, yet again, God’s faithfulness. could there be anything else?? =) love you!

    Reply

  8. Brooke Butler-Angaga
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 02:45:38

    That is amazing news, Kelli! I am so thrilled to hear your surgery is scheduled. Also thrilled to hear how God has brought you comfort and peace throughout this whole ordeal. I miss you!

    Reply

  9. wendy Montoya
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 04:59:00

    Kelli, Thank you for allowing us to share in this journey with you. You’re absolutely right, we do serve a Mighty God!

    Reply

  10. Stephanie
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 05:41:07

    I am so incredibly grateful that you will have your surgery soon. It sounds like the “3rd time is a charm doctor” is thorough and has explained to you the possible outcomes. I miss you Kelli!!!

    Reply

  11. Renee Garcia
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 17:42:44

    3rd doctor… surgery on 3/3… I think 3 needs to be your new favorite number! 🙂 We are praying every day for you my friend!!!

    Reply

  12. Yvonne
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 18:24:13

    So wonderful to hear the GRAT news and yes we most certainly do serve an AWSOME GOD. Prayers are with you and your family and hospital staff…….Thanks be to God

    Reply

  13. whittakerwoman
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 21:17:07

    Thanks for the update. Please keep this here blog open and a source of info for those who are far from home! love ya H

    Reply

  14. Sandra Gomez
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 18:40:57

    yay for a quick surgery date! all your FR peeps are thinking about you sprite and sending good thoughts and prayers! please let us know if there’s anything we can do. we are here for you for whatever you need! xoxoxoxoxo

    Reply

  15. kathleen
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 20:12:05

    Kelli,
    I am following your blog and have been praying for you. You have an awesome outlook and know you will prevail over this horrible disease. Keep up the good work and keep smiling.

    Kathleen from Camarillo, CA

    Reply

  16. MattP
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 06:17:14

    Appreciate you keeping us up to date Kelli. Yes, amazing things can and do happen when you let go and let God. You are a blessing to so many, and your faith walk if awesome. Keep up your spirits as much as possible and rest easy.

    Reply

  17. 5kidswdisabilities
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 00:13:13

    I hope your surgery goes well. You are so brave to share your story with others!! Know that you are doing God’s work by helping others.
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

    Reply

  18. Danielle Jones
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 20:16:16

    Hello Kelli,
    I came to know you through Mrs. Dyck. You are on my heart and my husband, I and our four girls are praying for you. Miracles happen through the immense power of prayer. May God’s peace reign over you through this surgery and through your journey. May His mighty hand cover you and heal your body and bring you to a deeper understanding of who He is. Know that you will be covered in prayer in our home for wisdom for your doctors, God’s grace to be upon you and for compete healing! Zepheniah 3:17. With much love in Christ, The Jones 6

    Reply

  19. Darlene Strong
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 02:25:51

    Kelly, I am keeping up with you and praying for you. Thank
    you for posting and keeping all of us updated. God bless you and your family!

    Reply

  20. Leah
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 06:09:38

    In just a few short hours, it will be YOUR DAY! The first day of the rest of your life! I’ll be praying for your peace, as well as for your family. That the doctor is able to get ever single solitary cell of that tumor, and that very little damage is done to your tongue in the process. That the tumor has stayed away from the nerve, and cannot continue on toward your jaw. Blessings to you.

    Reply

  21. Drew
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 21:31:15

    Hey Kelli, I just wanted to let you know that my wife and I are praying for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

