Treatment Plan…Part 1

Good morning!  Just wanted to fill you all in on my Oncology appointment yesterday.  I felt so surrounded by love and support as my brother, sister and sister-in-law all anxiously awaited the doctor’s arrival.  It was still a bit of a surreal moment as we discussed the details, but I am so thankful for all of your prayers as I truly felt all of the thoughts for peace flooding our time with the doctor.  We were all able to focus on the conversation and articulate questions that we had, which is quite amazing in and of itself!

So, the news…The doctor assessed the cancer at a Stage 1.  I will have an outpatient pre-op appointment tomorrow at which time I will be “put under” so the doctor can do a more thorough exam of my tongue.  He called it “staging the surgery.”  He will also be able to look through cameras to see if the cancer has spread anywhere else.  During the actual surgery, the doctor will also be removing some of the lymphnodes in my neck.  He said because I am so young and have never smoked or chewed and have no actual reason behind the cancer, he would like to be more aggressive in the treatment so as to try to prevent the further spread of the cancer at a later time in my life.  I will be hospitalized for approx. 3-4 days if everything goes as planned.  If the lymphnodes come back as cancerous, the doctor will bump the cancer up to a Stage 3 and I may be looking at radiation therapy.  If all goes well, there is no radiation and my speech resumes fairly quickly, I can anticipate a return to work within 6-8 weeks.

My biggest prayer at this time is that I can locate a doctor in the Sacramento area as I will be going home for treatment and recovery.  The doctor here is working on his end to find someone who he feels as confident with doing the surgery.  Well, that’s it for now…Again, I appreciate everyone and all of your prayers!  My family and I truly feel that for what the situation is, the news is good!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra Gomez
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 19:03:36

    sending you thoughts and prayers sprite! xoxoxoxo 🙂

    Reply

  2. Renae Rodocker
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 04:13:14

    We’re so happy that our thoughts and prayers are working! Any ideas on when you will be coming back to Sac? Hope the “staging” went well today. XOXO and LOTS of heart felt prayers.

    Reply

  3. Leah
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 06:56:06

    My name is Leah, and I’m here because Renee sent me here. Well, really she sent a lot of us! I’m sure others will drop in to say hello too. We’re here to pray with you, to laugh with you, and to cry with you. We’re also here to find LIFE with you.

    So you’re either just out of the hospital, or going to be very soon. I pray that you’re not in any pain, and that the information you got back from surgery was good. And if it wasn’t? Well…what do you say to that, other than “That sucks, doesn’t it?”

    May you rest peacefully tonight, and greet tomorrow with energy you haven’t felt in days. May you feel the warmth of His touch.

    ~Leah~

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 14:06:59

    Hi Kelli! I came to your blog from Renee’s and just wanted to let you know that I will be praying for you as you go through this time. And in Renee’s words, CANCER SUCKS! Thoughts and prayers! Beth

    Reply

  5. marrika
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 15:43:29

    Hi Kelli… I went to CBU with you although I don’t know if you remember me. My name then was Mary Van Dyke. I just wanted to let you know you are in my prayers and thoughts! The Lord is awesome and lets his light shine through others and from what I remember about you… that is the case! Your personality is contagious and your zest for life is one that everyone should share!

    Mary

    Reply

  6. Alice
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 17:42:43

    Hi, Kelli. I also came because of Renee’s blog. I will be praying for you as I follow your blog from now on.

    Reply

  7. Tricia
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 23:27:29

    Kelli- thanks so much for the updates. We are thinking about you and praying for you daily. Please let me know if you need anything or I can help out in any way. If you need someone to check on your place or water plants or anything while you’re in sac let me know. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

