New York!

I returned yesterday from an incredible five day trip to New York to visit my sister, my brother-in-law, Moi and my two nephews, Moses and Cyrus.  As a social worker with CPS, vacationing becomes more than just a chance to take a trip…it becomes a necessity in order to re-focus and allow my blood pressure to return to a more normal state of functioning!  Having said that, the past five days were a much needed rest and extremely low key!  My itinerary was as follows:

Monday, February 25th: 8:40 p.m. – Depart Sacramento for the hour flight to Las Vegas.  Listen to all the crazy 21 year olds talk about how exciting their hangovers in Vegas are going to feel once they reload the plane two days from now!  9:50 p.m.- Exit the plane and learn to block out the excessive sounds of slot machines for my two hour layover.  11:50 p.m.- Depart Vegas and sit in between two men, one of whom has a sharp odor that just won’t go away. 

Tuesday, February 26th: 7:45 a.m. – Thank God for land (and fresh air) and watch as my sister pulls up to baggage claim to collect me in their rented Kia.  9:00 a.m. until bedtime – sleep, talk to Lori-Lynn, sleep, play with my nephews, sleep, say hello and goodbye to Moi as he heads for the studio, sleep, watch American Idol and make judgmental comments about how I would have done it differently, sleep and laugh about how lazy I’ve been today.

Wednesday, February 27th: Happy Birthday, Lori-Lynn!  We woke up to sunshine instead of the predicted snow storm.  Moi took the day off from recording and we went into New York City to celebrate.  We decided to experience most of the city driving in the car due to the cold weather.  I was in awe at how similar my Hollywood viewpoint of New York actually mimicks reality.  The buildings are huge and the streets are packed with too many cars and inpatient commuters on foot.  Even the construction workers look just like they are portrayed in the movies.  As Moi braved the traffic, I enjoyed soaking in the sights and taking random pictures of things I don’t see on a daily basis.  Next to me in his booster seat, Moses (age 4) continued to ask, “Are we in New York City NOW?”  As the day wore on, that comment changed to…”Are we STILL in New York City?”…”When are we LEAVING New York City?”  After the hour it took to find a safe parking structure, we headed for the ferry hoping we were not too late to see our lady the Statue of Liberty.  A mere two minutes too late, the information rep. informed us that we could take the Staten Island Ferry, a free ride that runs every 30 minutes and runs right by the statue.  As we waited for the next ferry, I came to understand that it was the ferry for daily commuters in and out of the city.  Looking around, I saw that no one made eye contact except for the occasional look at the girl from California who dared to look into the crowd rather than down at the floor.  It was an awesome experience!  The Statue of Liberty is beautiful and met all of my expectations of what the Statue of Liberty should look like and it was fun to experience the journey next to New Yorkers who do it every day. 

Afterwards, we went to a tasty dinner in Little Italy where we sang “Happy Birthday” to my sis over Tiramisu.  Not solely from this trip, but more and more I realize how amazing my sister is.  She’s extremely strong and has grown so much over the years as she has learned how to be the wife and support to her musician husband and the mother to two children.  I recognized on this trip how settled she is and how happy she seems and her ability to have a joyful contentment in all circumstances.  As we grow older, I think we’re figuring out that the most important parts of life come not during the elaborate moments and expensive vacationing trips, but during those memories that are forming on a day to day basis…When I sporadically book a trip to NY just to visit with my sister and during that trip, when Cyrus finds his toes or Moses jumps up and down and says, “I love you!”  Or the excitement and pride that brews from listening to Moi’s latest hit knowing that his entire soul was poured into every lyric, every strum of the guitar…

Thursday and Friday looked pretty much the same as Tuesday.  I enjoyed resting and hanging out with my sister and the boys.  Lori-Lynn kept asking me if I wanted to go out and do something and I was completely content to love on the kids and hang out without a lot of activity. 

 Saturday, March 1: Lori-Lynn and I took the boys to the Long Island Children’s Museum.  They have awesome exhibits and Moses loved building with the blocks and drawing on the computers.  The National Circus Project was in town that day so we watched a circus show, minus the animals.  Moses was so cute as he tried to pretend he wasn’t a bit nervous before it started…I asked him if he wanted to sit on my lap and he shook his head no but quietly slipped his tiny hand into mine.  A few minutes later, he climbed into my lap for the remainder of the show.  He’s so sweet!  Saturday night Moi had the day off so he picked up some pizza and the infamous rice balls and garlic knots I’ve heard so much about…so friggin good!  Why can’t we do it like they do it in New York?  It was hands down, the best pizza I’ve ever tasted!  We watched a couple of movies and I played Candy Land with Moses and his friend, Trolly, who wasn’t exactly “real” or “there.”  It was so much fun! lol  And again, we laughed about how far I traveled just to hang out in the house and chill.  I loved every minute of it!  It’s not often that I get to see my family so a jam packed itinerary was not my highest priority.  

On a side note, my youngest nephew, Cyrus who turned four months old while I was there is one of the sweetest babies I have ever met.  He is such a happy, fun loving infant with an adorable smile and a laugh that is contagious.  I snuggled with him as often as possible and coerced Moses to join us when he would slow down long enough for a quick hug!  Cyrus apparently found his voice while I was there and decided that he would exert his new power by screaming through American Idol or while we watched a movie.  Moses is a great big brother and loves his Cyrus!  They laugh together and appear to have a genuine bond and a secret code known only to them!  High five to my sis and Moi for such amazing children!  They have worked hard as parents and it is definitely paying off!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom Rickard
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 19:36:17

    Yeah! Now I can keep up with two of my amazing daughters through their blogs. We just have to talk Emily into jumping into the game and then I will really be set.
    Loved your first entry about the shaving. The journey will always be interesting but oh so worth the trouble. Being a follower of Christ sometimes makes if harder as I strive to look at life through His teachings. But in the end, I would never change the amazing blessings that come only through His love and patience.
    I love you!

    Reply

  2. whittakerwoman
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 20:15:31

    Kelly! Welcome old friend. It will be fun catching up with you on this. I am jealous of your trip it sounds like you guys had a great time. Talk to you soon .H

    Reply

  3. Renee Garcia
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 00:51:05

    Welcome to blogland my friend! You’ll be an addict it no time! 🙂 I look forward to following your life and maybe we can keep up on each other better this way… I’ve been so bad about keeping in touch, life just gets in the way… but it shouldn’t be like that, I know! I’ll try to be better… Glad you had a great trip to NY!! I wish we could have been there too!!
    Renee

    Reply

  4. mizzjanie
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 02:44:16

    Hey Girl! Can’t wait to read your stuff. You can be assured when you write I will read. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Alisa and Brian Roberts
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 03:56:18

    Yeah for blogging. I love it. It is such a wonderful way to keep family and friends up to date with all that is going on in life. Email me if you would like to have ours to check out: alisa_brian@surewest.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

